quart jar of pickled cucumbers and onions in a cloudy liquid

This is my first lacto fermented batch of pickles this year. I started it Monday evening. I was in a hurry, so I skipped sterilizing the jars, I just washed them really well. It was fine. The pickling cucumbers are from our garden. I had a really tough time getting the cucumber vines going this Spring, and they haven’t fruited a lot. I had just enough cucumbers for one quart jar and one pint jar and those were partly full of sliced onions as well. I cut the cucumbers just enough to get them arranged in the jars. I tossed in a bunch of peppercorns and those other seeds. (I should have labeled the jar – what are they? Coriander? I just know I’ve used them for pickling before. Oh, got it! Mustard seeds.) The sliced onion rounds work great for the tops of the jars to weigh everything else down under the liquid. Last, poured over the room-temp salt water and closed the jars.


This morning, the liquid in the jars was so cloudy, and the smell when I opened them so enticing, I thought it was time for a taste. Just the scent was making my mouth water. I strained off a few sips of liquid into a glass and drank it. Yummy tonic! Then I scooped out a pickle and sliced off a piece to taste – perfection! They are great. And so crunchy. Such a nice surprise.


I was in such a hurry when I threw it all together on Monday that I didn’t expect it to turn out so well. I’d say this is the best batch I’ve ever made. Call me crazy for drinking the liquid, but it is so full of all those healthy probiotics. And to someone as coo coo as I am for pickles, it tastes fabulous.


If you’d like to make your own, here is the post from two years ago where I describe the whole process in detail:
I won’t even Dill with it

Enjoy!



