If you are of modest income, as I am, I’m sure you have noticed that brand new Halloween costumes for kids are absolutely unaffordable. And if you can afford them, but you think it is insane to spend $35 for a costume your kid will wear for one day and grow out of before it’s seasonally appropriate again, then you can be in this boat too. Come on, let’s go. To the thrift store. (That’s why the title, y’know? Macklemore, thrift shop. OK)

The key is getting there early in the month. The week before Halloween is too late, all the good stuff is gone by then. Consider yourself warned. We went yesterday.

This photo is fucking terrible, my apologies.  If you look closely though, you can see our neighbor's huge blow-up pumpkin/ghost lawn decoration across the street.

This photo is fucking terrible, my apologies. If you look closely though, you can see our neighbor’s huge blow-up pumpkin/ghost lawn decoration across the street.

We scored: a black and red ninja costume in good condition which fits Young Son perfectly, $7. A black hooded cloak for Brother, $4. A disco ball light wand, which goes off by itself (maybe it’s haunted?), but will go back on if you shake it, $2 (would have been worth the sticker price if it worked right, but I’m not mad, the thrift store is a charitable organization after all, this one benefits the American Cancer Society). A foam skull which Brother wants hanging around his neck, $1. And a jack-o-lantern beenie baby for me, $2. Total = $16 plus tax.

My favorite part of all is that my kids are thrilled with these new-to-them items. And I love it when my sweet boys are happy. They deserve it.

Do you already have Halloween costume plans in the works? Or are you more of a day-of costume creator if you get dressed up at all? Do your kids love Halloween the way mine do?

