stacks of canning jars which contain apples pears applesauce and pear sauce


I finally finished canning apples and pears on Saturday. I went through two flats of wide-mouth pint canning jars. That means we now have 24 pint jars of canned apples, canned pears, applesauce, and pearsauce. We still have some pears and apples left and we will eat those fresh, because I am D O N E.


Here’s the final breakdown:

(5) sliced apples
(7) applesauce
(2) blackberry applesauce

(3) green pear
(5) bosc pear
(2) bosc pearsauce

All the fruit came from the trees at my Dad’s. They are all organic. The apples are gravenstein, golden delicious, red delicious, and maybe one other variety too. The pears were bosc and some kind of green pear, maybe bartlett, but the flavor was different from bartlett’s that I’ve bought from a store. The only cost was the new jars ($8 each for two cases) and a new jar lifter ($6) and some sugar ($2). Which means we only spent $1 per jar for the final product.

I’m really pleased with the outcome.



stacks of canning jars which contain apples pears applesauce and pear sauce from a different angle


It’s cute how Brother keeps saying, “We’re going to be so happy this winter when we have all this canned fruit to eat!” I agree.

Funny how he’s so much happier about the pears and apples than he was about the tomatoes, right? (Here’s my first canning post Yes We Can about canning tomatoes, in case you missed it.)

Did you do any canning this year? Or have you done some in the past? I’d love to hear about it… please share!

