with low fog hanging in the background, Young Son runs towards me
Yesterday, as I was sipping my morning coffee, I came across this blog post Heading Off the Meltdowns about how children who walk to school have a much easier time concentrating. This is such a good idea, I should have thought of it myself.

Actually, when Young Son was in Kindergarten, his teacher suggested we do something active in the mornings before school to help him get some energy out. It was hard to achieve. With the morning rush and getting Brother on the bus at 7:30am and Young Son on the bus half an hour later it was difficult. We did manage to sometimes take a little jog or quick bike ride in the mornings, but not every day.

Anyway, I guess I’d forgotten all about that. And of course, with homeschool, there is no school to walk OR drive to, but we can still walk in the morning. Plus we don’t have to start early, which means there’s plenty of time for some exercise to start the day. So, after finishing my coffee, I commanded my troops to get dressed and put on their shoes. And off we went, out the front door. It was foggy and pretty and quiet.


Young Son and Brother are deep in conversation as they walk down the street


the sun is beginning to come out as our morning walk continuesThe boys mostly talked about their own made-up superheroes. I’m not sure I’ll be able to convince them to walk with me every day, but I loved it. And by the end of our walk, the sun was coming out and burning off the fog.

