I didn’t make it up or anything.  But I did try out several recipes and I guarantee I am bringing you the very best.  I had a huge craving for brownies a while back and so I googled Brownies on Bing, found a recipe that looked promising, and made some. That batch was okay.  Then I tried a different recipe, also online, and those were to-live-for-delicious.  Perfect brownies.  Next, I lazily bought a box mix from the grocery store.  I was expecting something roughly approximating the ideal brownie in taste and texture.  But, those were the worst.  I know the ingredients are crap, but I don’t always have time to bake from scratch.  Totally not worth the $1.49 I think I spent on it.  From now on, I’ll just wait until I have the time and bake the perfect ones, because nothing compares to a perfect fudgy brownie with a nice smooth crispy top.

See what I mean?

fudgy brownie middle with crispy top

Here’s what you need:

  • 6 ounces bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon brewed espresso (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon plus 1/8 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt the butter and chocolate in a double boiler.  I just recently aquired a hand-me-down one, but when I baked these I didn’t have one.  I used a metal mixing bowl placed over water in a pot.  It works okay, if you do this, just be careful it doesn’t tip.  Use a pot holder because the bowl will heat up.

melting butter with chocolate chips above hot water

Remove the melted butter and chocolate from the heat and let cool to room temperature. In a separate bowl, mix together the eggs, sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla, espresso (if using, I didn’t), and salt and briefly stir. Add the chocolate and butter to this. Then add flour and stir until just incorporated. Pour the batter into your greased baking dish. I used a glass 9 x 9 pan.

chopped walnutsIf you want, you can add some chopped nuts in the batter or on top. I put some walnuts on top. I like the crunch and the flavor contrast.

Bake at 350 for 25 – 30 minutes. (Mine actually took 33 min.)

Perfect Brownies!!

end result the perfect brownie


