First of all, I want to be upfront and apologize because I have not taken any pictures at all this week.  That even includes the low key celebrations of both son’s birthdays.  Gasp!  I know, I think it falls in the category of cardinal sin for a modern twenty-first century blogger mom to not take pictures.  But I just forgot.  Its not the first time and it won’t be the last, I can pretty much guarantee that.  Someday when I assemble a family photo album out of our boxes of snapshots, its going to be glaringly apparent that I took very few photos of Young Son as a baby.  I had my hands full.  And I was still working with a film camera (yes, I’m serious).

I have often preached that life should be lived and enjoyed in the moment; not from behind a lens taking pictures which will later remind you how much fun it was to hold a camera in between you and the best moments of your life.   Sometimes I succumb to my own good advice, what can I say?

So, as I was getting ready to tell y’all:  Today we went to the fish hatchery in Blue Lake.  I highly recommend this experience, it was fascinating and fun.  I don’t know if it varies depending on the season, perhaps we got lucky in that regard.  Because today there were several long rows running with water and small hatchling steelhead salmon.  There were thousands of fish, the water was thick with them.  And you can walk right up to the fish runs and look down on them.  Most of the steelhead were around 5 to 6 inches long.  And they were jumping out of the water.  It was a delightful sensory experience to watch them swimming and jumping.

Plus, there is a dispenser filled with fish food, for a quarter you can get a big handful.  When you toss the food in, the salmon swarm and churn the water to a froth.  The boys had a blast.  And I tell you, Family Man and I enjoyed it at least as much as they did.

Did you know that steelhead salmon and rainbow trout are the same species of fish?  The only difference is that the steelhead spend several years out in the ocean hunting, eating, and growing big before coming back upriver to spawn; and rainbow trout live their entire lives exclusively in rivers and streams.

