When I was pregnant with our first child, I read every birth story I could get my hands on.  I read Spiritual Midwifery at least twice, as well as the follow-up book, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. I also read all the way through Penelope Leach’s Your Baby & Child.  I was very excited about having a baby, but I had practically zero actual experience.  I have always loved reading so I read and read and read to try to prepare myself.  I think it did help me creatively visualize what I desired for the birth of our own child.


Our first was a homebirth, our second was an emergency c-section, our third was a full term planned hospital birth.  Our births have given us a wide diversity of birth experience.  The first and third births were satisfyingly joyful, resulting in the addition of two beautiful people to our family.  While the second birth was devastatingly heartbreaking when we lost our child after just ten days in the NICU.


Birth is an incredibly intimate process for those involved, yet universal, too.  Everyone who ever lived had a birth and many of us will give birth, also.   I want to give back to the birthing community by sharing our birth stories.  I have been meaning to write them down for years and I have finally succeeded.  (I probably should have done it sooner, I’m sure there are details that have been lost in my memory, but I have done my best.)  Someday our children will get to hear and read their own birth stories and I hope it will help them, too.


To read in chronological order, use the following links.  Otherwise, just scroll down.

First Birth

Second Birth

Third Birth

